Sanding Grits,,,Finishes,,, Varnishes,,,Paints,,, that Wet Look,,,

Painting options, interior and exterior.

Moderators: ttownshaw, billy c

kens

Sanding Grits,,,Finishes,,, Varnishes,,,Paints,,, that Wet Look,,,

Post by kens »

I'll open this thread with a welcome to those that differ with my opine, or just a general question.
In a former life, I was a professional automotive body repairman. The spray booth was my main domain.
Yeah, I did the body mud, the primer, the final delivery. Did that, got the t-shirt.
But I was the 'paint guy'. The paint booth was an area others dared not tread it seems.
I got to see all the common errors, sand scratches, waviness, fast dry, slow dry, color matching, etc., etc.
I read the many posts on this forum and get to feeling that many people are afraid to step away from the old school techniques such as varnish, and brushes.
I must ask why? Why varnish when there is so much more newer technology paint systems out there?
Why brushes when the newer gravity feed paint guns are now cheap?
You say varnish is a UV protectant....
your boat needs a UV protection,,, ,,but why varnish?
If varnish was so darned good, then why isn't our cars painted in varnish??? (how many cars are left out in the sun?)
If varnish was so darned good, then why don't you varnish your house? (your house is obviously left out in the sun)
I'm asking this as an objective question. Please respond.

I humbly ask to go on with this and get further into sandpaper grits, blocking, polishing, leveling, priming, and so on.
I am comfortable with spray techniques, and many others are apprehensive of this, I understand that, but, there seems to be a missing link.
Some missing link I cannot see, cannot understand, and yet I try to find.
Why the perceived connection to super fine grits like 1200, 1500, 2000 grit?
Truth be known, paint flows better over 320 than 2000.
Truth be known, modern clears are superior to varnish.
But why?
Please comment.