Hello from Texas

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

TreyG

Hello from Texas

Post by TreyG » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:11 pm

Hi everyone. My name is Trey. I’m from Houston, Texas and looking to do my first boat build. I’m a remodeling contractor with carpenter as my primary trade. I’ve built lots of cabinets and furniture over the years, so while Im not very familiar with fiberglass work, I’m fairly comfortable tackling this project. I am having a hard time deciding exactly what I want to build though. I really like the barrelback design with the rear inboard motor but I think I’d prefer to build one with a larger open cockpit without the separation between seating areas. Something more like the Malahini. Can anyone tell me if it’s possible to build a barrelback without the separation, or is it needed for structural integrity?

TomB

Re: Hello from Texas

Post by TomB » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:56 pm

Hey Trey, Welcome.

The hull is plenty strong with or without a deck beam between the seat rows. Stretching to 20' would give you a little more cockpit too.

Tom

Hercdrvr

Post by Hercdrvr » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:10 pm

Yes, You can open up the cockpit of a Barrel-back. There’s nothing structural about the beam between the seats. If you stretch the hull to 20ft you’ll have about 5 1/2- maybe 6ft from the dash to the back seat.
The Key-Largo is the same hull but in a utility configuration, more room but not as sexy.
Our Malahini is a very roomy boat for a family of 4 and plywood construction is faster and a less complicated build. Are you more interested in building or boating? The Barrel-back is a bit more of an extended journey verses a Malahini.
Keep asking questions, everyone here wants you to build the boat that’s best for you.
Matt B

TreyG

Post by TreyG » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:52 am