Hello, I plan to build the lightest TNT ever!

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Forge

Hello, I plan to build the lightest TNT ever!

Post by Forge » Fri Sep 20, 2019 11:33 am

Hello all,
I live in Huntington Beach California but I spend a week or so in Canada every summer and I want to build a fun little and speedy cruiser to enjoy at the lake every summer. Our family has a ski boat, so we have that covered, but I want something that would make long trips up the lake for picnics more enjoyable and cheaper on boat gas. I also have some nephews who will be at that age where driving a boat by them self would be just about the most exciting thing ever!...

I am an aerospace engineer, and I have plenty of experience driving boats, sailing, rebuilding engines, repairing cars, and building cabinetry etc. So this build is right up my alley.

The plan:
Build the lightest TNT ever in order to take advantage of Canada's law that does not require you to register any boat with less than 10 HP. Since I plan to use the boat for only a few weeks a year, and it will spend nearly all year in storage it is cost prohibitive to have register it each year. It doesn't need to be too pretty but it needs to survive the winter and be easy to launch (Carry by hand from under the cabin, down to the beach).

I will plan to post this build as I make progress, mostly planning and design for the next year or so. but I intend to share my development with the forum for anyone interested. And of course I hope to get as much input from the experienced folks on this forum to help me achieve my goals.

Key Requirements:
-Highest top speed possible with a 9.9 HP outboard.
-Lightest weight Hull possible to keep the speed up, and make it easy to carry and store for the winter