Hello from Adelaide, Australia!

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

BootsMann

Hello from Adelaide, Australia!

Post by BootsMann »

Hi Guys!

I've been building a ski boat since 2017 and what a learning curve!!

I'm building using cold moulded ply over solid timber frame, and the 12mm transom, 12mm bottom and first layer of 4mm sides are on.

Hopefully by the end of this year she'll be fibreglassed and up the right way.

Have a good one people :D
BootsMann

Building a 5.0m (16 Ft.) SK Ski boat :D

"It is amazing, the number of unflattering positions one must assume to build a boat"

Roberta

Re: Hello from Adelaide, Australia!

Post by Roberta »

Welcome aboard! Post pictures and ask away.

Roberta :D
Roberta "Queen of the Boat Builders"
Built Zip "Oliver IV", Super Spartan "Jimmy 70", and Torpedo "The Glen L".

BootsMann

Post by BootsMann »

Hello again!

So this is the hull as it is in my shed at the moment - the first layer of diagonal ply is on the sides, and at the moment I'm working on fairing everything for the second layer. Seeing as the side and bottom planking are meant to butt up at the bow, I've added the vertical strips to become a kind of wedge between the two layers, bringing the thickness of the sides at the front of the chine to 12mm. The plans called for the 12mm bottom to be set in at the front, but I couldn't see a way of faring that so... here we are. In retrospect I think it would've been easier to add this 4mm to the stringers and chine under the 1st layer on the sides, as like a shim on the frame. Thoughts? Anyone else had to do this?
unplaned mid layer.JPG
There's a few things I'm currently grappling with internally.